Shop With A Cop

On Saturday December 2, 2017 the Optimist Club of Frederick, held their eleventh annual “Shop with a Cop” program. This event took place at Wal-Mart, 2421 Monocacy Blvd in Frederick.  A big “thank you” to the manager of Wal-Mart, Ijaz Ahmad. Thirty-three children from Frederick County were given an opportunity to “Shop with a Cop” and buy Christmas gifts for their families.

Police officers from the Frederick City Police, Maryland State Troopers, Thurmont and Brunswick Police, Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and the Mt. Airy Police Departments accompanied these children on their Christmas adventure.  The Officers picked the children up at their home and transported them to Wal-Mart. The children were given $100 gift cards to purchase gifts for loved ones in their lives. This gave the children an opportunity to be “gift givers.” The Optimist club members wrapped all the gifts purchased by the children. The police officers then drove the children to Frederick Outback Steakhouse, who through the generosity of owner Debra Larson, provided lunch for the officers and children. Eating lunch together gave the Officers and their paired child time to get to know each other better and build a bond of respect. It was a fun and exciting day for all those involved.

Back row: from left:  Ofc. Sara Evans, Sgt. Rebecca Carrado, Ofc. William Dixon, Cpl. Jacki Druktenis, Ofc. Jeff Putman, Cpl. Christopher Handler, Cpl. Jerimy Tindel, Detective. Sgt. Scott Robertson, Sgt. Todd Hill, Tfc. Adam Oleyar, Trooper Kyle Knowles, Ofc. James Ward, Ofc. Robert Quintin, Ofc. Kristen Kowalsky, Cpl. Josh White, 1st. Sgt. Robert Lantz

3rd row:  Cpl. Laura Albrecht, Cpl. Chris Warden, Cpl. Tim Duhan, Tfc. Christopher Plumadore, Trooper Jonathon Deater, Sr. Trooper Richard Kulina, Lt. Wayne Wachsmuth, Ofc. Scott Long, Cpl. Russell Halterman, Cpl. Adam Matthai, Trooper 1st. Class Daniel Peterson, Sr. Trooper Everett Green, Ofc. Sean Geiser, Chief Doug Reitz, Sgt. Curt Snyder

2nd row:  Shy Sweetser, Hunter Burleson, Alysha Brown, Courtney Bruchey, Jase Sweeney, Hanna Brittle, Dylan Jenkins, Luis Barrera, Trenton Simms, Joshua Rodgers, Jacob Hopkins, Dominiq Vanduzer, TyVaughn Fitzgerald, Jordan Duvall, Earl Richard, Naomi Story

Front Row:  Denayja Mann, Hailey Sulima, Jaloni Thompson, Dallas Knight, Antonio  DiCola, Mark Purdum, Anthony Steiner, Zachary Jenkins, Kaylee Coletta, Malacahi Ashime, Yareimy DeGabriel, Ever Morales, Will LeGore, Je’Sahi Bowie, Christian Foster, Cayden Conners-Lynch

Not pictured Savannah Stamey